User Accidentally Erased All Contacts?

Has this happened to you? You're the MDaemon administrator, and one of your users has contacted you in a panic because he accidentally deleted all of his contacts from his ActiveSync connected device. The device then re-synced with the server, at which point all contacts were deleted from the server. This is a good case in support of backup & archiving. You just never know when you'll need a backup copy of your data, and most businesses these days can't afford to NOT have a backup solution in place.

To restore the user's contacts, you would simply need to restore the backup copy of the user's addrbook.mrk file, which you can find in the Contacts.IMAP folder of the user's mailbox (example - C:\MDaemon\Users\example.com\frank.thomas\contacts.IMAP). You may also see a series of .MSG files in the same directory within your backup. These .MSG files are created from the contents of the addrbook.mrk file by Outlook Connector. You will not need to restore these .MSG files since they will be recreated automatically. This same concept also applies to your calendar entries (Calendar.mrk&#41, tasks (TaskList.mrk&#41 and notes (Notes.mrk&#41.

Blocking HTML Images on a Per-User Basis in WorldClient

One of the many tricks used by spammers is the embedding of images that contain special URLs that identify the email address of the user who viewed the images, thus confirming to the spammer that it is a valid email address.  There is an option in MDaemon (Setup | Web & IM Services | WorldClient | Options | “Block HTML Images”) that allows you to block these images globally by default. When an image is blocked in WorldClient, a yellow bar appears at the top of the browser indicating that images have been blocked. But what if most of your users don’t want this feature enabled? What if they prefer to be able to view these images by default? You can leave the setting described above disabled, and then enable it on a per-user basis. To do this:

  1. Navigate to the MDaemon/Users directory.
  2. Open the folder for the domain that the user belongs to.
  3. Open the folder for the user you would like to update.
  4. Open the WC folder.
  5. Open the User.ini file in Notepad.
  6. Under the [User] section, add the following line:
    BlockHtmlImages=Yes
  7. Save the file.

With this enabled, the selected user will receive the yellow bar in WorldClient for images that are loaded from remote locations.